Christmas Time in London!

I was a bit sad this year not being in London during the build up to Christmas since the decorations and buzz around the celebration always gets me in the festive mood! But I did get a chance to head up to London on a few occasions which definitely perked me up a bit!

Southbank always has loads of Christmas markets and this year was no exception! As expected, it was very busy, but even the hoards of people didn’t dampen my mood!

The food market behind the Royal Festival hall was amazing and all the stalls were calling at me to choose them with their enticing smells and displays! A delicious duck burger from Frenchie won me over as I can never resist some duck!

A visit to London wouldn’t be complete without heading to Covent Garden! No matter how many times I’ve been, it always makes me smile as there is always something going on and the atmosphere is just so lovely! This time, there was an impressive Lego sculpture of some reindeer and Santa! I dread to think how long that took to make!

Out of all the lights in London, Oxford Street was definitely the most disappointing since they used the same boring white balls as last year. You would have thought that one of the busiest streets would have the most impressive lights?

I always look forward to seeing what the Selfridges window displays look like, and this year they seemed to be themed around fairytales. My favourite window was definitely the one with the gingerbread house!

We also headed up to the top floor of John Lewis as they had ‘Monty’s Winter Garden’ with the penguin from their Christmas advert. We could see the whole of Oxford Street from above and I felt so far removed from all the hustle and bustle of it all!

A trip to Winterville in Victoria Park was also on the cards. I’d been to Winter Wonderland a couple of years ago so wanted to go somewhere new and see what the hype was all about. It was quite quirky and definitely suited East London with its random market stalls selling the oddest of things!

Leave a Reply

