Bournemouth, Sandbanks, Poole

A few weeks ago I headed to Bournemouth with Luke for a well needed break from work. It was rather odd heading off on the train during work hours since it was the first of my allocated annual leave I’ve taken. It felt a bit like I was skiving! But it was great knowing that I was getting paid for it! Oh the joys of paid work!

We were sooo lucky with the weather that weekend as glorious sunshine shone down on us! One of my favourite places is the beach! No matter where it might be in the world, there’s just something about the sea and the calming waves that just makes me smile🙂 So it was great that our hotel was literally just a five minute walk to the beach!

We arrived in the late afternoon and it was soon pitch black so we had a bit of a wander around Bournemouth town centre which had a ‘Festival of Light’ which was a bit disappointing to be honest! Definitely much more something for kids to have a play around and be amused by!

There was also a German market which was very busy but pretty🙂 I do love markets! Even though I’m not one to really buy anything from them, I still love just peeking at all the different things on offer! We also managed to see a guy doing a fire show which was amazing!

On our second day, we visited was Sandbanks which has the fourth highest land value in the world! Never thought somewhere like that would be in England! The houses there definitely didn’t disappoint as they were all so grand and impressive! A few years in my job and I’m sure I’ll be able to afford one😉 (or maybe just a brick…)

We also headed to Poole for a bit of a wander and the Twin Sails bridge was definitely an attraction in itself!

Poole

Poole

I am such a sucker for sunsets so we just had to stop to watch it! They’re just so beautiful and since it was a clear day it was even more stunning!

When we were watching the sunset, a guy cycled past on one of the most amazing bikes! It was like double the height of a normal bike and I just had to take a sneaky pic😉 I have no idea what happens when he stops! Does he just topple over or does he have to keep on cycling forever?! Who knows?!

On our third day, we decided to just have a long walk around Bournemouth and all the Chines. When we were walking, it didn’t feel like we were still in Bournemouth as the really tall trees enclosing us and small streams made me feel like I was in a different world.

During our trip, we saw so many different types of beach huts, some more impressive than others! It’s mad how much they probably cost!

Bournemouth beach huts

A walk down Bournemouth pier was also on the cards and we watched another stunning sunset😀

On our last day, we had a few hours before our train left in the afternoon, so we headed east towards Boscombe. We passed a beach hut which is apparently the first municipal beach hut in the UK, although it looked pretty new to me!

First beach hut in the UK

First beach hut in the UK

We also passed loads of huts painted in various shades by Dulux, which I did rather like (the pink ones being my favourite of course😉 )

Beach huts

Beach huts

Boscombe pier had loads of strange musical instruments dotted along it and we probably had a bit too much fun on the last instrument which played out ‘I do like to be beside the seaside’ when we hit the metal tubes!

Leave a Reply

