Oxford, Bath & Bristol – Day 1

This summer has flown by way too quickly; it feels like just yesterday that I finished my last ever university exam! Over two months have already passed and I’m starting work next week! Scary stuff! This summer has been filled with many lovely things such as Rome, loads of fun days out, my 21st birthday, and my cousin’s wedding so I can’t really complain! Last week I went to Oxford, Bath, and Bristol with Luke for six days which I really enjoyed. It was nice doing a bit of a city break and exploring the area. I last went to Oxford 11 years ago and Bath 15 years ago and it was quite interesting suddenly remembering places that I’d been to when we passed them.

We got to Oxford in the early afternoon and we were staying at one of the Oxford University colleges, Wadham College. It was pretty central and about a 15 minute walk from the train station. It was a lovely college and our room overlooked the front quad which I was very happy with! Our room was hugeeee too with two dressing rooms as well as an ensuite. If only my first year halls room was as spacious as this! We even got a little Wadham college toiletry pack which was a nice little touch😉


Wadham college front quad

After settling in, we had a quick wander around the college grounds which were very well kept!

Wadham college

Lunch was then on the cards as we were both rather hungry, so we picked up some food and had a mini riverside picnic🙂 It was a really sunny day so we headed along the river for a walk. We noticed a random mound of grass in between some houses with a man at the top which we thought rather strange! We later discovered that it was part of Oxford Castle!

Oxford Mound

We then came across all the Oxford University college boat houses and there was a regatta of some sort going on which was fun to watch.

We arrived at Iffley Lock and Luke told me all about how they worked – they’re pretty clever and impressive! Loud music then filled our ears a party boat with partying men suddenly passed by which was rather unexpected!

We then headed back along the river, back to the centre. I was 11 the last time I came to Bath with my parents and I remembered finding a shop called Bonnie. We found it again as it was near to where we were staying and I just had to get another photo in front of it😉

2003 vs. 2014!

2003 vs. 2014!

Oxford has a lot of different restaurants and a lot of chains too. After having a bit of a rest, we had a bit of a wander along to the centre and opted for dinner at ASK which was lovely😀

Dinner at ASK

Leave a Reply

