A Sunny Riverside Walk

Last Monday was absolutely glorious as the sun was shining and it was very warm! We decided to do another Books About Town bench hunt and wander along the river east of London Bridge since I’ve never gone that way before (ticking off one of things on my Things To Do Before I’m 30 list😀 ). We started off at Blackfriars again and wandered right towards Shakespeare’s Globe, where the first bench was. Since it was a weekday, it wasn’t as crowded as it would normally be which was great as we could walk at a leisurely pace without being jossled around!

We passed Southwark Cathedral and stopped for a few photos at the Golden Hinde before heading to Borough Market which I still can’t believe I’ve never been to! It was a shame that not all the stalls were open but it was still really cool to slowly wander through all the different butchers, bakers, etc! I don’t know what it is about markets, but I really do love them! I think it’s the buzz and variety of things on offer that really appeals and draws me in.

The next two benches were Paddington Bear and Great Expectations which were close by, and then we found the Axel Scheffler and Julia Donaldson bench whcih wasn’t too far.

SAM_5467

Luke showed me another part of London which I never knew existed. Hays Galleria was originally a warehouse and wharf and was redeveloped in the 1980s. It’s now home to many offices, restaurants, shops, and flats and is a pretty cool little place!

We were heading towards More London and since it was near midday, all the workers were flocking down for their lunch. Unfortunately a lot of people were sitting on the four benches that were dotted around this area, so we had to wait a bit before I could get a decent shot of them, but I didn’t really mind waiting around as it was such a lovely day😀

After strolling through a nice looking road, we got to Butler’s Wharf which was just really unexpected!! There were some amazing apartments right by the river (which I one day hope to own😉 ) and loads of cool looking boats. I just couldn’t believe I’d never ventured this side of the Thames! What a lot I’ve been missing out on!


SAM_5506

We had passed a lot of very posh looking restaurants along the riverside which had tablecloths and wine glasses set out. I don’t think they’d be that welcome to my slightly sweaty self in flip flops! Instead, we headed to ASK, which was equally as lovely, and were sat outside with stunning river views. It was great being able to just sit there all content and watch the world go by! Since I was by the sea (the Thames counts as being part of the sea right?😉 ), I went for their seafood pasta which was so good!

After fuelling up, we crossed over Tower Bridge which is another thing I don’t think I’ve ever done! After taking a million photos and getting in the way of the genuine tourists, we reached St Katharine’s Docks, which I never even knew existed until I read about it on Time Out! It’s central London’s only marina and is now home to many restaurants, shops, flats, and offices. The weekend before, there had been a Clipper Round the World sailing race, so we were able to catch a glimpse of a couple of lingering boats. It was rather peaceful and it was great being able to take a casual meander around the area.


SAM_5522

There were a million benches this side of the river, but we weren’t really in the mood to do a massive search again since it was rather hot! We headed towards the Tower of London and found the Katie in London bench and the Noughts and Crosses bench which was close by, before heading home after a wonderful day out😀

2 thoughts on “A Sunny Riverside Walk

  1. Pingback: Things To Do Before I’m 30 | Life of Bonnie

Leave a Reply

