Graduation!

It’s been a bit of a whirlwind since my last exam in June! It’s gone so fast and so much has happened including my relief on results day last Tuesday and my graduation on Friday from the London School of Economics! There’s another thing that I can tick off my list of Things To Do Before I’m 30 yay! There were seven graduation ceremonies in total running from Wednesday to Friday. Mine was at 10:45 on Friday and I arrived earlier to collect my gown, certificate, and tickets with plenty of time for photos before it got too hectic later on. My parents and Luke came along to watch my ceremony which was lovely🙂

It was about 31°C so I was absolutely boiling and rather lovely and sweaty in my heavy, black gown!! My ceremony consisted of students from Economic History, Economics, and Management (my degree). The ceremony started with a procession of academics to the stage which did feel a bit cheesy, not going to lie! I had to stop myself from laughing which wouldn’t have been so good since I was in the front row of students so when the camera panned across, my face was projected on the large screen above the stage.

Our director, Craig Calhoun, then gave a bit of a speech and then it was time to start with the handshaking! I was near the end of the ceremony and throughout it, me and many other girls around me were worrying that we would trip over in our heels and make fools of ourselves! It was time for me to line up and thankfully there was lady to help sort out our gowns as I was looking a mess with my gown hanging in a rather dropped shoulder style due to being crammed in my small seat. Loads of people before me did amusing things like take selfies with our director, high five him, hug him, and kiss him😛 My time on stage was all a bit of a blur as I was concentrating so much on getting up the steps, giving my name card to my Head of Department, walking across the stage, pausing to shake hands, then walking back down the stairs without falling over! It was all very quick and I didn’t trip up phew! Loyd Grossman (yes, the sauceman) is a LSE alumni and he gave a bit of a speech afterwards and told us to make the most of our parent’s niceness towards us and and then it was all over! It then suddenly hit me that I had graduated! How very surreal!

After my ceremony, there was a drinks reception. Management’s was held in the Shaw Library which I’ve never really been in before. It’s all rather small and quite grand looking with large portraits dotted across the walls. There was also a nice little terrace area which I never knew about and we chilled outside for a bit. After more photo taking, I was rather glad to be rid of my heavy robe, and we headed to Cafe Rouge for a lovely lunch (I was definitely making the most of my nice parents, just like Loyd Grossman told us to😉 ). Afterwards I gave my parents a bit of a tour around LSE and itf felt very strange that I wouldn’t be coming back in September! At least LSE is literally in the middle of central London, so if I do get a bit sentimental, I can always return at any time!

SAM_5901

Three years has flown by and I’ve met some amazing people who will be in my life forever. I’ve learnt so much, not just academic things, but about myself and how to handle myself in different situations, which I never would have learnt if I had never gone to university. I’ve definitely grown up and matured a lot more. I’ve also probably learnt one of the most important lessons in life which is to never give up, no matter what life throws at you, you will get through it. Yes, things will be hard and you’ll want to give up, but there is no shame in leaning on others for support. Whether things happen for a reason or not, or whether things do end up the way you want it or not, I’ve learnt that whatever life throws at you, you need to take it, learn from it, and grow from it, because things will turn out the way they are meant to in the end and it will all be worth it.

One thought on “Graduation!

  1. Pingback: Things To Do Before I’m 30 | Life of Bonnie

Leave a Reply

