Rome – Day 1

I recently came back from Rome for a post-exam holiday with my parents and it was such a lovely trip! The city is so full of history and around every corner there is something so pretty that I just had to take a photo of (probably why I ended up taking over 1800 photos in the four days we were there!). I’m so glad for the invention of the digital camera otherwise I would definitely be broke due to film and developing costs! I’m no expert at history so can’t really tell you too much about the sights we saw, but I can definitely appreciate how magnificent they all looked and just wish that photos could show the true beauty of the things we saw!

Our flight out to Rome was at 9:05 but it was sadly delayed. We were told to go to gate 31 and once we had all lined up, were told that it was now gate 32, so we all trundled over to the other side. Once we had just about stood in a queue again, we were then told that we now had to go back to gate 31. It was all getting a bit confusing and I overheard that it was because that there were air traffic strikes in France and that our plane hadn’t arrived yet and they had no idea what was going on either! How very reassuring! It seemed like we weren’t going anywhere for a while so I found a nice comfy spot on the floor and sat down and chilled with my music for what seemed like an age. Eventually we were then told that our plane would be at gate 32 so we all rushed over there again. All this to-ing and fro-ing was like shuttle runs and could probably have done as my exercise for the week! Thankfully, our flight was only delayed by one hour, and we were on our way a short while after 10.

We arrived in Rome at around half one their time and it was lovely and sunny😀

We caught the bus from the airport to the city centre and during the journey, we passed many amazing buildings and ruins; my camera was in overdrive! After a short walk to our hotel and settling in, I was eager to get out to explore as there was just so much I wanted to go and do and see and so little time!

I was designated the job of tour guide by my parents and we ventured out as I led the way with my trusty city map from the hotel. It was already quite late in the day and I wanted to fit in as much as I could today as it was a lovely day and was meant to rain for the rest of our stay! We passed loads of orange trees on the side of the road just outside our hotel and my mum got so excited! I never knew anyone could get so happy about orange trees! I know what your birthday present will be😉

Orange tree

Our first stop was the Piazza della Repubblica before heading to the San Carlo Quattro Fontane. Unfortunately renovation works were being done to the fountains so we couldn’t see them😦

We then passed Quirinale on our way to the famous Trevi fountain. Like the Quattro Fontane, renovations were being done to the fountain which was a massive shame as we weren’t able to see it in its full beauty. Nonetheless, I tossed a coin into the fountain which now means I will return to Rome one day so maybe I’ll see it in its glory another time!


We walked through Piazza Colonna before reaching the Pantheon which is the world’s largest unreinforced concrete dome and looks very impressive inside!

 

Piazza Navona was next on the agenda which is a large city square built on the site of the Stadium of Domitian. It was very busy even though it was rather late in the day! Since we’d arrived late afternoon, there weren’t any market stalls, but there were still many street artists.

SAM_3512
SAM_3513
SAM_3514

We then headed over to the famous Spanish Steps which connects Piazza di Spagna with the upper piazza Trinita dei Monti.

It was then getting rather late in the day and we were all rather hungry and tired, so we walked back to the area around our hotel for dinner. As Italy were playing in the World Cup, it was quite amusing passing so many restaurants and bars with people crowded around the TV. Unfortunately, they lost, which may have explained the slow service at dinner!

Leave a Reply

