The Beginning of Something New

It’s been ridiculously long since my last post due to exams and having my head crammed full of strategy and market research amongst all other bits and pieces. I had my last ever university exam on Tuesday and it definitely still feels a bit surreal that I’ve finished my three years and that there are no more exams at all! It’s genuinely so nice waking up in the mornings knowing that I can do whatever I like and not feel too guilty because I have revision to be doing instead. In a way, it’s kind of like I’m still getting used to this new sense of freedom that I have now…as sad as that sounds haha.

It’s nearly been a week since I finished, yet it feels like the past days have been such a blur. Many things recently have made me think and I’m just really looking forward to making the most of the next two and a bit months before I start in the big, wide world of proper work. I haven’t had a proper summer off for about three years since I worked all last summer and the majority of the one before, so it’s good being able to have so much freedom to do whatever I want!

The past three years have gone so quickly and as cheesy as it does sound, I have definitely grown up a lot and learnt so much. There was a point in my first year where I really wanted to drop out since it all just seemed so difficult and overwhelming, but I reasoned with myself and saw sense because there was no point throwing away the past year. I decided to persevere and make the most of my time at university…and I’m so glad that I did! It’s also strange and rather sad that after like 16/17 years of being in education, it’s all coming to an end and I’m heading off into the scary world! Definitely the end of a chapter in my life and the start of a new one🙂

The thing is, we none of us know what’s round the corner. Fate can be a giver or a taker. Sometimes she’s kindly, and sometimes she causes terrible pain. Things happen and we’d rather they didn’t – and however desperate we are to change them, we just can’t.”

I came across this in a book I’m currently reading and thought it was rather nice. Strange how perfectly timed I always seem to come across gems in a book that sum up my life a lot of the time! I guess it’s true what people say about life being a rollercoaster, with all the ups and downs, and twists and turns. With the parts that can make you feel horrible and sick, and those that are really unexpected but make you feel on top of the world. I guess what I have learnt is that life can suck at times, but the good times definitely outweigh the bad, and whatever happens, life is about learning and about growing as a person.

There are many lovely bits and pieces that I’m looking forward to in the coming months, and I guess sometimes I do forget that I’m only 20 and that there is such much still left to do😀 (Better get going on my things to do before I’m 30 then!). So here’s to the beginning of something new!

Leave a Reply

