Apple Cinnamon Cake

Apple and cinnamon cake

It’s been a long time since I last posted on here and even longer since I baked anything, so I decided to have a break from revision to conjure up something tasty for a treat. I had many apples that needed using so had a ponder about what I could make with them. I really fancied an apple crumble, but had no ice cream or custard, so that idea went out the window. I also toyed with the idea of some apple turnovers or apple galettes, but the time needed to make puff pastry put me off the idea. In the end, I went back to a tried and tested cake that never fails to please😀 This cake is very moist and freezes well, which is great otherwise I would definitely eat it all in one go!

Ingredients:
100g margarine
100g sugar
2 eggs
100g self raising flour
1 tsp vanilla
1-2 tbsp cinnamon 
3 apples peeled and diced/sliced
Method:
 1. Preheat the oven to 180c
 2. Cream together the margarine and sugar
 3. Whisk in the eggs and vanilla
 4. Sift in the flour and gently fold in
 5. Mix in the apples, reserving some slices for the top if you want
 6. Pour into a silicon baking tin
 7. Arrange remaining apple slices on the top in a decorative manner 
 8. Bake at 180c for 35-45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean

One thought on “Apple Cinnamon Cake

Leave a Reply

