100 Happy Days – Day 80 (Butter Free Apple Cake)

Fat free apple cake

As I’m going back home in a few days, I wanted to use up what was left in the fridge. I had loads of apples so was thinking of making an apple crumble, but realised I didn’t have margarine or butter to do so. I came across a recipe here that had no margarine or butter in it and it looked pretty good, so I gave it a go. I adjusted it slightly as I only had two eggs and I was rather pleased as the egg whites actually whipped to soft peaks this time! You may remember my disappointment a couple of days ago when I tried to make my Angel Food cake, but the egg whites didn’t whip up. I wasn’t sure how the cake would turn out as it had no fat in it, but it was actually rather good, especially with some squirty cream on it! Next time I might add more sugar though as I do have a bit of a sweet tooth and it was a little bit plain for me. I also finished writing a first draft of an essay for my sociology coursework today, so I had a nice big slice of cake as a treat for finishing it😀

Ingredients:
2 apples (260g)
2 eggs separated
135g self raising flour
100g sugar (next time I'll increase this to 135g)
135ml milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon
Method:
 1. Preheat the oven to 180c
 2. Whisk together the egg yolks and sugar
 3. Mix in the milk
 4. Sift in the flour
 5. Peel, core, and dice the apples and add to the mix
 6. Whip the egg whites until soft peaks form
 7. Fold in the egg whites carefully
 8. Pour into a cake tin and bake for about 30 minutes

One thought on “100 Happy Days – Day 80 (Butter Free Apple Cake)

  1. Pingback: 100 Happy Days – Day 82 | Life of Bonnie

Leave a Reply

