Le Fumoir (Review)

We headed to Le Fumoir for our first dinner in Paris. It was extremely busy when we arrived but we had booked so thankfully were able to get a table. In the evening, they serve a set menu (€32 for two courses, €36 for three courses). Both my mum and I went for three courses and for my starter I went for beef tartare with bits of fried sardines and cucumber in a light sardines broth, whereas my mum went for the squids sauteed with a touch of curry, creamed corn and gombos (whatever that is!)

Before serving us our food, we were given warm towels to clean our hands, which I thought was a nice touch. We were also served a cold soup, but I can’t remember what on earth was actually in it! The starters soon arrived and my beef tartare was presented quite prettily with the cucumber surrounding the beef. It was an alright dish, but nothing that special. My mum’s squid was rather nice and it wasn’t spicy at all, even though it said that it had a touch of curry (I can’t stand anything that has a hint of spicyness!)

For my main, I opted for the roasted lamb, with mashed potatoes, lovage and tomato sauce. My mum went for the pan fried scallops, mashed Swedish turnip, black cabbage, and lardo. Once again, the food was presently nicely and I thought the portion was quite small at first, but once I dug in, I found a decent portion of meat which tasted great and wasn’t chewy. My mum got four scallops and it was surrounded in a slightly frothy broth, which reminded me of frothy sea water (maybe that was what they were trying to imitate?!)

My mum and I aren’t really cheese eaters, so I chose the mango pie with yogurt and mascapone ice cream, and my mum went for the black and white chocolate with clementine sorbet. My mango pie was really nice and the ice cream added a nice touch to it. I don’t really know what my mum’s dessert was, but it seemed to be pieces of dark chocolate truffle in a really nice sauce.

Overall, this restaurant was pretty good. I normally wouldn’t go to the those restaurants which serve the food looking all pretty since they normally give you tiny portions and I’m left wanting more. But the portions here were a decent size and the food was quite tasty too.

One thought on “Le Fumoir (Review)

  1. Pingback: Trip To Paris – Day 1 | Life of Bonnie

Leave a Reply

