Au Pied De Fouet (Review)

I came across this restaurant on Trip Advisor and there were amazing reviews for it. The restaurant was only a few doors down from our hotel in Paris so we thought we’d try it! It was very busy when we arrived, but we were able to get a table straight away (although we were sharing a table with another two diners, but I guess this shows just how popular the restaurant is). The restaurant itself is pretty small and there is an upstairs as well, but I’m not sure how large it is there as I didn’t go up. The tables are quite close together and my mum said it was quite crowded, but I’d rather say that it was cosy😀

The lady who served us seemed to be the owner and didn’t speak a word of English but that added to the fun of it all! I haven’t studied French since Year 9, and even then I was pretty terrible at it. I tried to order “une carafe d’eau s’il vous plaît” (a jug of water for you non French speakers!) with our other drinks, but with my terrible accent things got a bit confusing and after a lot of pointing and gestures, we finally got there.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I love duck, so I had to try their confit de canard! Not long after ordering, my duck arrived with mashed potato. The duck was lovely, with a crispy skin, and the mash was really nice and smooth. I was a bit worried that the dish would be a bit dry since there wasn’t a sauce, but I had nothing to worry about since the duck was cooked to perfection! As there is always room for dessert, I ordered the chocolate fondant thinking it would be like a chocolate cake with a molten middle. However, what arrived was more of a mousse, so was a little disappointing, but fairly tasty nonetheless!

Overall, this restaurant definitely deserves the high rating on Trip Advisor. The service we received was great as the waitress was really friendly and didn’t mind my terrible attempts at speaking French. At €12.50, the duck was good value and tasty, and for €3 the dessert was pretty decent too.

One thought on “Au Pied De Fouet (Review)

  1. Pingback: Trip To Paris – Day 1 | Life of Bonnie

Leave a Reply

