100 Happy Days – Day 1

So day 1 of my 100 Happy Days challenge! It was a bit of a dreary day outside so thought I’d bake some chocolate cupcakes to make the day seem brighter😀

Image

I used two different recipes for the cupcakes and icing as I wanted to see which I liked best. The dark brown cupcake mix was meant to be a Devil’s Food cake recipe (although I don’t really know what the difference is between that and a normal sponge!) topped with a chocolate buttercream. The other mix is just a normal chocolate sponge mix topped with a milk chocolate ganache.

Ingredients for the basic chocolate sponge:
:
♥ 63g margarine
♥ 63g sugar
♥ 25g cocoa
♥ 45g self raising flour
♥ 1 egg
♥ 110ml hot water
♥ 1 tsp vanilla

Ingredients for the devil’s food cake:
♥ 43g margarine
♥ 100g sugar
♥ 25g cocoa
♥ 85g self raising flour
♥ 1 egg
♥ 110ml hot water
♥ 1 tsp vanilla

For both mixes I mixed the hot water and cocoa powder together and left it to cool. I then creamed the margarine and sugar and mixed in the egg and vanilla. I sifted in the self raising flour and mixed in the cocoa mix, and finally, I baked it at 180C for about 25 minutes.

Ingredients for the ganache icing:
♥ 50g milk chocolate
♥ 25ml single cream

I simply melted them both together, left it to cool and mixed it up a bit before spreading on the cupcakes.

Ingredients for the chocolate buttercream:
♥ 56g icing sugar
♥ 21g margarine
♥ 9g cocoa

I mixed them all together and kept mixing until it was a bit fluffier.

Sadly I underbaked the normal sponge mix a little bit, but they taste a bit like brownies, so I guess that’s okay! But next time I’ll probably bake them for at least 30 minutes or more.

 

Leave a Reply

