Caravaggio (Review)

This restaurant was the first one I visited when I first moved to South London to live with my friends for Uni. I think I chose it because I had seen good reviews for it on the internet and Italian is my favourite food anyway, so I thought why not?

Since living here, I’ve been to Caravaggio too many times to remember! The food is great, the service is friendly, and the prices reasonable! I have had so many different mains on the menu and they were all pretty good! I’ve never tried a starter or dessert from here, although they do look rather tempting!! You also always get complimentary olives which is nice, although I’m not a fan of them so leave my share for whoever I’m eating with.

I’ve had the chicken and pepper pizza a couple of times and you get massive pieces of chicken – well worth the money! The pizza is probably about 12 inches in diameter and is of the thin type. I’m not usually that big a fan of thinner pizzas, but this one was quite nice. I guess it wasn’t anything special but still a decent pizza nonetheless.

Pizza con pollo (tomato, mozzarella, chicken, mushrooms, red onions, olive oil, basil)

Pizza con pollo (tomato, mozzarella, chicken, mushrooms, red onions, olive oil, basil)

Another time I tried the calzone as I’m a big fan of Prezzo’s ones. The calzone normally has salami in it, but I’m not really a big fan, so I asked if I could have chicken instead and they kindly obliged. The calzone itself was well filled and rather tasty. But I did find that the ricotta cheese was a bit overpowering and I would have preferred more mozzarella, however that’s just personal taste!

Calzone (tomato, mozzarella, ricotta cheese, ham, chicken, basil, olive oil)

Calzone (tomato, mozzarella, ricotta cheese, ham, chicken, basil, olive oil)

I’ve had veal a couple of times, once with smoked salmon and mozzarella in a white wine and tomato sauce, and the other time wrapped in ham and cheese in a brandy and cranberry sauce. Both times were fairly nice, although I felt the portions were a little bit small.

Veal with cranberries

Veal with cranberries

Duck is one of my favourite foods, so I was very happy when I saw that Caravaggio did duck breast! It takes them a bit longer than their other foods to cook and from experimentation, I like their duck medium to well done – this ensures that it’s not chewy and still retains that lovely flavour. Their duck comes in a nice orange sauce with potatoes and some seasonal vegetables. The portion size is good as you get about four or five quite thick slices of duck, but I do wish that there was a bit more veg. For about £14, I think it’s reasonably priced in comparison with other restaurants that serve duck.

Anatra all arancia (breast of wild duck cooked in orange and honey sauce with seasonal vegetables)

Anatra all arancia (breast of wild duck cooked in orange and honey sauce with seasonal vegetables)

On weekdays, they do a lunch menu where you can choose any pizza or pasta and a drink for £6.50. I’ve come here several times with my mum and my friends during this time. From the pasta menu, my favourite is the seafood linguine pasta in tomato sauce. It comes abundant with different seafood such as mussels, squid, king prawns, and mini prawns and it is very tasty! All their pasta dishes are massive and definitely very filling!

Before I finish Uni, I’m sure I’ll visit this restaurant many more times since it is just one of those restaurants where you know you will get a good standard of food and great, friendly service. However, I have also found out that in January 2013 they received a Food Hygiene Rating of 0 which is really worrying and surely means that they should have had to close! But we’ve never had any issues and everything appears to be clean. Nonetheless, that fact still remains at the back of my mind now and I’ll be sure to keep a closer eye out the next time I return.

 

Caravaggio on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Caravaggio (Review)

  1. Pingback: 100 Happy Days – Day 51 | Life of Bonnie

Leave a Reply

